Direct Bonding

Direct Metallic Bonding is method used to assemble two components. Despite its main difficulty, the requirement of high level of cleanliness, several assets like low bonding force, room temperature process, short process time, make it as a serious candidate for advanced chip-to-wafer technologies applicable to 3D integration.

The 2-Year Minalogic project (Proceed) was supported by French FUI (Fond Interministériel Unique) with the objective of demonstrating high placement accuracy (< 1μm) of chip to wafer structures by direct metallic bonding. The project, led by SET, was developed through a partnership with:

  • CEA-Leti,
  • ST-Microelectronics
  • ALES
  • CEMES-CNRS

A special FC300 system, adapted to direct metallic bonding requirements for high level of cleanliness, has been developed and installed at CEA-Leti to explore chip-to-wafer structures by direct metallic bonding for 3D interconnect.

PROCEED Project

The PROCEED Minalogic project is a 4.2 Million Euros, 24 months project supported by French FIU (Fond Interministeriel Unique). Started in 2009, the goal of the PROCEED project is to demonstrate high alignment accuracy (< 1 µm) of chip-to-wafer structures made by direct metallic bonding. Such structures are required for high performance 3D interconnexion circuits and enable a wide range of applications in microelectronics as well as in optoelectronics or MEMS.

Direct copper-to-copper bonding requires good planarity and excellent surface quality especially in terms of both particulate and metallic contamination. The low roughness of the copper pillars and pads as well as the topography between the copper and oxide areas are critical to obtain good bond strength at low force and room temperature.

The process, based on chip-to-wafer direct metallic bonding, is developed at CEA-Leti to overcome certain limitations in 3D integration. This technology consists of attaching chips on a substrate at low temperature and force, creating a bond of high mechanical and electrical integrity due to local metallic bonding.

ALES supplys technology to support the surface preparation while CEMES-CNRS characterizes the bond quality and analyzes changes to the copper metallurgy during the annealing step. STMicroelectronics is driving the application of this technology for the high density 3D integration.

Technology Benefits

This direct metal-to-metal bonding technology offers many advantages compare to conventional thermo-compression bonding.

The bonding process takes place at low force and room temperature, enabling higher accuracy bonding for high density interconnections by circumventing thermal expansion of differing materials. To ensure void-free bonding, the alignment and bonding steps must take place in a particle-free environment. It is accomplished by the use of special materials and careful management of the bonding environment to protect the wafer surface while it is fully populated with dice. 

A low-force bonding process is key to the high throughput required for widespread adoption of 3D IC Integration.

Technical Papers

TITLE

DATE

FROM

Chip-to-Wafer Technologies for High Density 3D Integration

May 2011

  CEA Leti Minatec, ALES, STMicroelectronics, CNRS-CEMES, SET

Collage Direct

Le collage métallique direct est une méthode utilisée pour assembler deux composants. Malgré sa difficulté principale, le besoin d’un haut niveau de propreté, plusieurs atouts tels qu’une force d’assemblage faible et un temps de procédé court, en font un candidat sérieux pour les technologies avancées puce-sur-wafer destinées à l’intégration 3D.

Le projet Minalogic de deux années (Proceed) était soutenu par l’état français (FUI, Fond Unique Interministériel), avec l’objectif de démontrer une forte précision de placement (< 1 µm) entre les puces et les structures du wafer par collage métallique direct. Le projet, piloté par SET, a été développé en partenariat avec :

  • CEA-Leti,
  • ST-Microelectronics
  • ALES
  • CEMES-CNRS

Une FC300, spécialement adaptée aux besoins de haute propreté du collage métallique direct, a été développée et installée au CEA-Leti pour explorer diverses structures puce-sur-wafer par collage métallique direct pour l’intégration 3D.

Projet PROCEED

Le projet Minalogic PROCEED est de 4.2 M€, d’une durée de 24 mois et supporté par le FUI français (Fond Unique Interministériel). Initié en 2009, le but du projet PROCEED est de démontrer une forte précision de placement (< 1 µm) entre les puces et les structures du wafer par collage métallique direct. De telles structures sont nécessaires pour les circuits hautes performances à interconnexions 3D et rendront possibles une large variété d’applications en microélectronique, en optoélectronique ou pour les MEMS.

Le collage direct Cuivre-Cuivre nécessite une bonne planéité et une excellente qualité de surface en termes de contamination particulaire et métallique. La faible rugosité des piliers et pads de cuivre, de même que la topographie entre le cuivre et les zones d’oxyde sont des points critiques pour obtenir une bonne adhésion à faible force et à température ambiante.

Le procédé, basé sur le collage métallique direct puce-sur-wafer, est développé par le CEA-Leti pour surmonter certaines limitations de l’intégration 3D. Cette technologie consiste à fixer des puces sur un substrat à température et force basses, créant un joint de haute intégrité mécanique et électrique grâce à une soudure métallique locale.

ALES fournit la technologie de préparation de surface alors que CEMES-CNRS caractérise la qualité de la soudure et analyse les changements dans la métallurgie du cuivre durant la phase de recuit. STMicroelectronics pilote l’utilisation de cette technologie pour l’intégration 3D haute densité.

Avantages technologiques

Le procédé de soudage se passe à faible force et à température ambiante, ce qui permet une meilleure précision d’assemblage pour les interconnexions haute densité, en évitant les coefficients de dilatation thermique différents entre matériaux. Afin d’obtenir une soudure sans vide, les étapes d’alignement et de soudage doivent se faire dans un environnement sans particule. Ceci est réalisé grâce à l’utilisation de matériaux spéciaux et par une gestion méticuleuse de l’environnement du soudage pour protéger la surface du wafer pendant qu’il est totalement peuplé par les composants.

Un procédé de soudure à faible force est la clé pour les cadences élevées nécessaires pour l’adoption à grande échelle de l’intégration 3D.

Publications techniques

 

 

TITLE

DATE

FROM

Chip-to-Wafer Technologies for High Density 3D Integration

May 2011

  CEA Leti Minatec, ALES, STMicroelectronics, CNRS-CEMES, SET